Weigh In! (Day 8) Tuesday, September 9th

Standard

September Goals

Eliminate Soda by 9/10 and Drink 2 quarts of water each day.

Exercise 5 / 10 times

Food Journal

 

I am down 7.8 lbs in one week! I started last week at 231.2; this morning I was at 223.4!  That motivated me to workout again this afternoon: my calves were burning and I ran 4 out of 30 minutes. That got me to 1.6 miles in 31 minutes burning 192 calories! I also signed up to do a Zumba class on Thursday morning.  I have one Pepsi in the fridge and I think I will leave it for my husband to drink, because I do not want the caffeine headache after not having had one for several days.

 

I had some time to read in The Ultimate Volumetrics Diet book.  This is what I learned about calorie density.  Wher are the calories in your food: (page 18)

Fat 9 calories per gram

Alcohol 7 calories per gram

Protien 4 calories per gram

Carbohydrate  4 calories per gram 

Fiber 2 calories per gram

Water 0 calories per gram

The book further goes on how to determine a food items calorie density level (CD).  Look on the nutrition facts of any food for number of calories and divide it by the serving size in grams.  The lower the number the more of it you can eat.  She explains how knowing this formula can help you make a good choices, “CD is particularly useful for comparing two brands or varieties of a similar food to decide which gives the biggest portion for the calories” (page 21).  I feel like this is information I have known for awhile just wasn’t sure exactly how to put it all to use.  Now if I can’t decide what to eat I have a mathematical way to decide; however, usually my taste-buds want something particular when it comes to snack items.  

 

Food Journal

7:30 12oz water

8:30 183 calories

bread (90)

peanut butter (40)

grape jelly (25)

2.1oz half of a gala apple (28)

 

24oz water throughout the morning at Mops

 

10:00 MOPS brunch 171 calories

Mops Brunch

Mops Brunch

There was a lot of yummy looking food on the tables: cookies, quiche, several types of breads, fruit and veggies.  Trying to watch the calories above is what I chose.  I did not eat the ranch dressing; I used the hummus at the top of the page.

grapes (61)

carrots (35)

snow peas (5)

hummus (70)

 

12:30 305 calories

Homemade chicken salad {Sarah’s recipe} (130)

10 crackers (175)

8oz water

 

3:30 16oz workout water

 

6:45 357 calories

20140909_181020

Veggie Stir-fry (167)

1 cup brown rice (190)

8 oz water

 

evening water 8 oz

 

Total Water 76 oz

Total Calories In 1016 – 192 from work out = 824 net calories

 

 
Leave a Reply

