September is HERE!

Standard

I have had several close friends tell me I should start a blog….and here it is!  I am not sure what all will come out of my fingers onto the page so just bear with me during this learning process.  For starters I want to list my goals every month and then I will write and let you know how I am doing.  

This months personal goals are eliminate soda from my daily routine by the tenth and begin drinking 2 quarts of water per day.  I have done this in the past and it is amazing how much better I feel from just this simple step.  Another goal is to work out (at least 30 minutes of exercise) 10 times this month.  Lastly I am going to journal everything I eat or drink and the time of day I eat or drink it. 

Are any of you wondering what brought on all this change?  Here it is…I am FAT if you ask a doctor I am morbidly obese.  This past Saturday we went to Snowbird which is a ski resort about 40 minutes from us.  We bought all day passes and had a blast riding the roller coaster in the rain; we also enjoyed riding the Tram up to Hidden Peak with an elevation of 11,000 feet.  We saw a spectacular view that made me stand in awe of God’s work, the mountains were beautiful.

The view at 11,000 feet.

The view at 11,000 feet.

 AND THEN I wanted to ride the mountain flyer, however, you have to weigh less than 175 lbs to ride alone or less than 425 lbs to ride together.  There was a sign clear as day I was too fat to do something I wanted to do.  Brushed it off and kept going.  I love to rappel so naturally I wanted to do their vertical drop, a 50 foot free fall.  As I laid flat on the ground I learned that these two things are very different with rappelling you still have control of your descent with a free fall not so much.  I was able to do the vertical drop but just barely the weight limit 285 lbs I weighed in at 231.2 so weight wise I was good; however, I could barely get the harness on.   At first these things didn’t really bother me I was just like that sucks I couldn’t ride a ride but as I laid awake that night I got angry.

Naturally I wanted to try to find someone to blame. I couldn’t find anyone who was at fault for my current condition but me. So ouch, I am FAT and its MY fault.  Then I laid there even longer wide awake unable to sleep (a normal thing for me) thinking that its my fault I am in this mess and it will be my fault if I do nothing about it.  I have tried to lose weight in the past I make radical changes for a bit, lose some weight, and then I gain it back when I stop the radical change.  I did it last year got under 200 and then the holidays came and I stopped and never got back on track so this time I am doing things different…NO radical changes.  I am going to try to set my self up for success.  

My goals are listed above and my first milestone will be to reach a 5% total body loss or 11.5 lbs.

2 thoughts on “September is HERE!

  1. Janine

    If you can do it, so can I! I’ve been thinking a lot about this lately. I am going to start using the Couchto5K app. Read lots of reviews. Great success stories, or maybe I’mjust being rachist

    Like

Leave a Reply

